Memoirs of a Girl Interrupted

Published May 25, 2013 by Jasmine

I came across something I wrote to myself a few years back, and felt compelled to share it. I have been lacking motivation in so many areas of my life since last fall. Things are slowly falling back into place, but I am nowhere near where I want to be, nor where I thought I would be in my life. It was only fitting that I came across this tonight because I needed the reminder.

“Always remember there are only two kinds of people in this world–the realists and the dreamers. The realists know where they are going. The dreamers have already been there. The timing will never be perfect for me to pursue my dream, so I might as well start now. If I don’t, then next year I’ll be a year older and not a step closer to it. Love what I do, or don’t do it. Don’t make a choice of any kind, whether in career or life, just because it pleases others or it ranks high on someone else’s scale of achievement…make the choice to do something because it engages my heart as well as my mind. Make the choice because it engages all of me. Success is doing the best I can with what I have wherever I start in life. God will help me be all I can be, but He will never help me to be someone else. All the tests, stopwatches, and finish lines in the world can’t measure human potential. When someone is pursuing their dream, they’ll go far beyond what seems to be their limitations. The potential that exists within me is limitless and largely untapped…when I think of limits, I create them. Give myself a clear vision that I may know where to stand and what to stand for. What I need is vision that is so big that it is compelling, not only to others, but to me. If it’s not compelling, I won’t have the motivation to stay the course. Both vision and strategy are important, but there is a priority to them. Vision always comes first. Always. If I have a clear vision, I’ll eventually attract the right strategy. If I don’t have a clear vision, no strategy will save me. Being specific doesn’t necessarily mean having every little detail thought out before I move forward. The would be a mistake. The big idea needs to be clear. The rest unfolds as I move forward, and I make adjustments as I go. Dreams are kind of like children–they need time to mature before we burden them with too lofty expectations. Dreams are to be pursued, not just achieved. Who I am is more important than what I do. The goal is to bring what I do in alignment with who I am, so I don’t end up being someone I don’t want to be. Progress takes many attempts.”

Time for the next attempt…maybe this time I will get it right.

Image

Leave a Reply

