Back to the Road Less Traveled

Published September 23, 2012 by Jasmine

It’s been a long four weeks since these darn shins of mine started bothering me.  Back at the end of August I had decided I was going to stop running for a month, and I had some friends tell me not to stop because it would be that much harder to get started. While that is true, I have never really developed a good running base as I seem to have one injury after another and not enough running time to develop a strong base.  I was eventually forced to take a break two weeks ago. I ran and walked through shin pain for two weeks, before I finally realized it wasn’t going to go away on its own. So I haven’t run or walked the last two weeks, in fact, this last week I have not done any cardio or strength training. I was hoping the shins would be better. I went for a test “shuffle” today, and while they are getting better, they aren’t back to 100%.

I have decided to take my focus off running, and for the rest of this year my focus will be back on losing weight. It’s time to go back to the road less traveled…the road that I know works, the road that I know I won’t have to deal with injuries on, the only road I knew before I ever contemplated running. It’s time to refocus on strength training, biking, stair climbing, walking, and swimming since I would like to do a triathlon (and someday an Ironman). I remember when I first started at the gym and how I was afraid to walk on the treadmill without holding on because I thought I would fall, and how I couldn’t even make it five minutes on the stair climber holding on. Now I am running and can go 60 minutes on the stair climber without holding on. I’ve come a long way, but I still have so far to go.

This doesn’t mean that I am not going to run the rest of the year, but it will not be my focus. If I am walking and feel like throwing in a few running intervals, I will. There will be no expectations, no schedules, no run/walk intervals, and no “running” days. It’s going to be all about me, my focus on losing weight, my focus on improving my aerobic capacity in ways other than running, and doing whatever I feel like doing.

Luckily, I am not signed for any races this fall. I do have a 5k walk/run for Alexandra House this weekend with my mom and my sister. They are both faster runners than I am, so we weren’t going to be running together anyways…I will most likely just walk. I was really hoping to get to do the Monster Dash again this year. It was a fun event, but I also wanted redemption…I had to limp the last 1.6 miles last year because of a very tight IT band. However, it is unrealistic to think I can go from eight one-minute run intervals today, to a half-marathon in  five weeks. I may just volunteer this year.

Happiness = Running

4 comments on “Back to the Road Less Traveled

  • Fantastic! I love that you’re listening to your body and adjusting as needed. You’re a better person than I am in that regard (pushed until I had a far worse injury). Bravo to you for what you’re doing! I had no idea you had Ironman aspirations — I think that’s awesome! If there’s any way I can be of help or service, let me know and I’d be glad to correspond.

  • Let me speak from experience…sometimes we don’t have a choice but to find another focus outside of running. I’ve been playing Russian Roulett for too many months and finally got hit by the bullet. Let me tell you it hurts and right now my running survival rate is on life support. Running has been my athletic essence of life and I’ve been experiencing the stages of death due to my recent diagnosis.

    BUT you know what? There are other things out there. Like you, I’m now putting my energies and passion to getting stronger. I have made a mental list of things I can do and sticking to it.

    I have also taken the power of God away from Doctors. Who are they to look at my feet for less than 10 mins and label me with a degenerative disease without running all the routes. I have trained years to be the runner I have become and they think they have the power to knock me down in 2 visits?

    Get stronger. Heal your body and find new passions. I believe that if you keep the faith something better will come out of what we initially thought was the worst thing ever.

    You may be stopped in your tracks but look out when we build back up and come back stronger than ever. I’m keeping faith in that no matter what for both of us 😉

  • Leave a Reply

