I AM RESPONSIBLE

Published July 29, 2012 by Jasmine

I have never really been one who blames others for problems in my life. However, I am very good at making excuses/justifying my own choices and behavior. At the beginning of 2012 I declared this year the year of “JASMINE.” Over half of this year is over, and not much has changed, not much has been accomplished. The only person I have to blame for this is myself. I am not a victim, I am simply lazy. It is time for me to stop waiting for someone or something to come into my life and make it better. It’s time to face the truth…I have been lazy, unmotivated, undisciplined, lacking passion, lacking direction, angry, bitter, and lost. I feel stuck. I feel like there must be some lesson that I am supposed to be learning, which I am not, and that is why I am not moving forward. A comfort zone is a beautiful place, but nothing ever grows there. What screws me up most in life is the picture in my head of how I think things are supposed to be.

For the remainder of this year, and really the rest of my life, my motto is: “I AM RESPONSIBLE.” I am responsible for:

  • My health
  • My weight
  • My diet
  • My thoughts
  • My words
  • My goals
  • My dreams
  • My happiness
  • My success
  • My failures

No more excuses, no more justifications.

Everyday and in every way, I AM RESPONSIBLE. Every morning I will remind myself of the following:

I believe something wonderful is going to happen to me today! I believe that I can successfully handle all problems that will arise today. I feel good physically, mentally, and emotionally. It is wonderful to be alive. I’m grateful for all that I have had, all that I now have, and all that I shall have. Things aren’t going to fall apart. God is here and He is with me and He will see me through. I thank God for every good thing. Today is my day of opportunity. Today my faith will be bigger than my fear. I am a force to be reckoned with.

Stay tuned…

6 comments on “I AM RESPONSIBLE

    • Thank you so much Richard. That really means a lot! You are pretty awesome yourself, and I will never forget you waiting at the finish line for someone you really didn’t know!

  • “the best of me is yet to come” – I remind myself of this as often as I can. We all have challenges and sometimes we struggle to find the will to give those challenges a run for their money. I’ve been injured but there are other things I could do, but have chosen not to due for not the best of reasons. I am taking faith that this down time or period of less than full motivation has it’s purpose. I see that you have been doing workouts even if a short period and give those credit. We don’t have to log in 10 miles or an hour of training to make it real, any little bit makes a difference.

    There are days I like to think, I don’t care or it doesn’t matter but I give myself the benefit of the doubt and do the best I can. That’s all you can ask for yourself, give the benefit of the doubt, know there’s a purpose and smile for every effort put forth.

    I mean sometimes my clean diet is tarnished by a cupcake (I heart cupcakes), but hey it could have been worse…I could have consumed two, but chose not to. See we are a work in progress.

    Be kind to yourself as that matters too.

    • Willie I am flattered that you take the time to read my blog, and share your insights and experiences. One thing I have tried to remind myself, particularly the two times I was sidelined with IT band issues, is that the setback is setting me up for a greater comeback. You are so right that every little bit counts!! I love cupcakes too…well most sweets I love!

  • Leave a Reply

