Week One of 300 Day Challenge

Published July 11, 2012 by Jasmine

Today is the end of week one of my 300 day challenge. For those of you who don’t know what my 300 day challenge is, here you go.

Time to get serious and down to business. I have my eyes on a PR at the Red, White, and Boom half-marathon next July 4th. I also want to reach my goal weight, which means losing 60 pounds. So I am repeating a goal from a few years ago…working out 300 out of 365 days. Since my normal workouts are kind of lengthy and I know I won’t always be able to do a full workout, I have to complete at least 30 minutes of cardio or strength training in order for it to count. This equates to one rest day a week, with 13 floating rest days!

All in all I would say the week was a success. I’m a little sore as this was my first week back to strength training after taking almost two weeks off, but it’s a good sore. It lets me know I am doing something right! Better sore than sorry!

This first month I only have two non-workout related goals: limit my Caribou/Starbucks habit to every other day, and no candy except on my cheat day which is Friday. For those of you who don’t know me both of these things are every day occurrences. I will make a trip out of the house just to get coffee and just to get candy, sad I know. I was a success in both areas. I only had a Milky Way this week because I had bought it last Wednesday and didn’t get around to eating it. I generally would be one to calorie count, but I am going to see how this first month goes without doing that.

Statistics from my first week:

  • Total time exercising: 6 hours, 2 minutes
  • Total miles: 14.09
  • Total calories burned: 2, 877
  • Total weight loss: 3.8 lbs

My routine:

  • Thursday: 2.02 run at 13:14 pace
  • Friday: 2.02 run at 12:50 pace
  • Saturday: 3.0 run at 12:27 pace
  • Sunday: rest day
  • Monday: 2.0 run at 14:20 pace; chest/back/biceps/triceps; stretching
  • Tuesday: 2.9 x-train at 9:18 pace; legs/glutes/shoulders; stretching
  • Wednesday: .50 run at 13:33 pace; core work; stretching

Other than my legs being a little sore, I am feeling fantastic! I have a 5k a week from tonight. My mom and ran this race (Torchlight 5k) together last year. It wasn’t chip timed then, but I think we came in around 41:38 or so. This year it is chip timed so I am excited to see how we do!

One week down, 51 weeks to go. To some this probably seems like an far-fetched goal. When I originally set this goal a few years ago that is how I felt. I needed a big goal though…one that seemed slightly out of reach, but was do able if I worked hard enough. It kept me accountable. If you have any kind of desire or dream get started now because the time is going to pass anyways. One year from now you will wish you had started today!

Leave a Reply

