My Love Affair

Published November 15, 2011 by Jasmine

This love affair of mine has been going on for as long as I can remember, and I don’t foresee it ending anytime soon. It makes me happy, it makes me smile, and it makes me feel good (but this feeling is usually short-lived). I know that this love affair is wrong, it goes against everything I am trying to accomplish, but I can’t help myself. As much as others tell me it is bad for me, and I need to end it, I can’t. It won’t end until I am ready, regardless of what others think or say, regardless of whether it is right or wrong. It honestly sometimes makes me sick to my stomach, but I still can’t end it.

I wish I could say this love affair was with a gorgeous man, but unfortunately I am still looking for him. My love affair is with sugar, especially candy! A friend of mine has told me that I have an emotional attachment to sugar, I prefer to call it a love affair. I love candy, I love cookies, I love sweets!

I realize this love affair is a huge obstacle to me losing weight. As a challenge, I did give up sugar and starches for an entire month. During this time the weight came off really quick, but it wasn’t a realistic change for me. The one thing I can say about that month was that I felt AMAZING! When I cut out sugar, white flour, and starches I basically inadvertantly cut out gluten (for the most part). Quite honestly I felt the best I can ever remember feeling. The saddest part about that last statement is that wasn’t even enough to get me to stop eating sugar. The fact that I know I could feel the best that I have in my entire life if I quit eating sugar, and that is not enough for me to actually do it leads me to believe there probably is some emotional aspect to it. I have no idea what it might be, but awareness is the first step, right?

I have to come to terms with the fact that my weight loss will be slower than it could be if I gave up sugar, but I’m not ready to give up sugar. I like my mocha, my lattes, my candy, and my Christmas cookies! Maybe someday I will be ready, but not today. My real problem with candy is that I tend to be a binge eater. For instance, I had one of my favorite things tonight…Ghiradelli Peppermint Bark with Dark Chocolate.  It’s one of those bars that has eight individual squares…instead of eating one or two squares, I ate the entire bar. For me, moderation has no meaning when it comes to sugar. This needs to be my new mantra:

Do you have a love affair with sugar? If so, any tips or tricks on how you deal with it?

I do have to say that my eating is better than it was two to three years ago, but there is a lot of room for improvement. I need to find a happy medium because life is too short to not enjoy the things you love!

7 comments on “My Love Affair

  • Jasmine, we all have our moments with sugar and candy. My husband thinks my diet consists of diet coke and M&M’s, which sometimes it does. Other times I am a very healthy eater! Salads, very low fat foods, fat free foods and good carbs! You need to portion control your sugars every day! Meaning…. give yourself the “ok” to eat the sugar you want for that day, and that day only. Don’t deprive! #1 rule. BUT, you have to make yourself a limit and a realistic limit. Not one out of bounds that you will never be able to control, just like in running my dear. set realistic goals for yourself. You can do this, I believe in you!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Thanks Sheila! My diet is kind of like yours. I don’t have sweets everyday, but when I do it definitely is not in moderation. I wish my favorite things could be bought in a single serving!! I just need to work on more self-control. Progress, not perfection is my goal!! Thank you for your support. 🙂

  • You are awesome, and you CAN do it! Just don’t deprive yourself, that is why you crave it so badly and go to extremes. Trust me on that one, your body knows when you deprive it os any certain thing that it is used to and calls for it more and more. SO… if you give yourself the okay to eat SOME sugary stuff, it should help satisfy that pang your body is giving you. It’s weird, sometimes my body wants cheese and lots of it. I figured out it is because it is wanting more calcium with a bit of saltiness to it. Listen to your body unless it screams CHOCOLATE ALL THE TIME…. then my dear, we need to get you some help 🙂

  • That was like reading my own thoughts in black and white (well, pink actually!)

    I too am addicted to sweets and candy. I too gave it up for a month before completing my 5th marathon.

    I felt better, dropped weight… Yet I too have returned to the poison cupboard even though I know it’s bad.

    I’ve read recently that you actually have to give it up completely if you can’t do it in moderation. That’s a scary thought but I am thinking from past attempts that it is probably true.

    Good luck, I’ll be following your progress via facebook – happy to offer marathon tips from an overweight plodder who has the medals to prove it can be done!

    Janna x

  • Absolutely, happy to share any helpful tips and mistakes I made along the way. I’m new to your blog and have just done some catching up. I started off in 2008 with slightly more of a running base but I had ITBS too, just before my first marathon.

    Mail me at kiwijanna@yahoo.co.nz and I’ll write a lengthier note about training & nutrition etc than is appropriate here on your cool blog 🙂

  • I think there’s a good possiblity that you are binging on it for emotional reasons. It makes you feel good, loved, happy, and all of the things that you want to feel at that moment. You shouldn’t give anything up. You should eat what you want, but if something is making you feel bad, how is it helping you? Treat your body with kindness, don’t make it feel bad. I would never subscribe to giving up foods, but I have taken to eating less, eating what I need, and treating my body kindly. I suggest Women, Food, and God by Geneen Roth about emotional/compulsive eating. I read it over a year ago and it is by far the best way I’ve found to deal with treating food as a way to manage emotions.

  • Leave a Reply

