Not the Run I Was Hoping For

Published August 23, 2011 by Jasmine

First things first, never, never underestimate the power of consistency and momentum.

Before I get to today’s run, I need to lay some foundation. Nearly all of my runs since I have started running have included walking. I walked for a total of 37 minutes in my first half-marathon, which was just back on July 4. After that I did a couple runs (short ones) in which other than my five minute warm-up I ran the entire time. I’m still a really slow runner, my half-marathon pace is only 13:32.

I was pretty excited to run today after not running or doing any cardio for 16 days. I mistakenly believed that after being a bum, and eating whatever I wanted for the last 16 days that I was going to be able to go out and run the whole distance, and hopefully have one of my better times. Boy did I set myself up for failure with that belief! Not only was I not able to run the whole distance, my pace was 30 seconds slower than my half-marathon pace. Here’s the real kicker…I only went two miles.

I went 2.02 miles and it took me 28:21. I ran for a total of about 17:21, and walked the difference. My longest running stretch was in the beginning for 11:47. I really didn’t want to stop, but didn’t think I could keep running.  My heart rate was up to 185. It was relatively warm and sunny, 84 degrees with 67% humidity. I got a side stitch. I was congested. I haven’t been feeling well for the last week. My body was screaming, “what in the hell do you think you are doing?” Like I said in the beginning, never underestimate the power of consistency and momentum.  Once you have lost those two things you have lost everything, and it’s time to start over.

I guess things could have been worse, I could have been in pain, which I never was. However, about 23 minutes into the run during one of my walk breaks I could feel my IT band rubbing against my knee. It’s funny, at least for me, that it always seems to be more noticeable when I am walking rather than running. I did run two one minute intervals after this just to gauge how bad I thought it felt compared to before. Like I said yesterday I knew that my IT band was still tight, so it looks like I will be a work in progress for quite some time.

Based on my results today I have decided I am definitely not going to try and run the 5k on Thursday, but I don’t want to walk it either. Since I seem to have a problem going out too fast in the beginning and lose momentum in the end I am going to walk more in the beginning. My plan is as follows: the first mile I will do a walk-run ratio of 2/1, the second mile I will do a walk-run ratio of 1/1, and the remainder I will do a walk-run ratio of .5/1. Hopefully, the IT band won’t be rubbing too bad.

At the moment I am not very optimistic about the fact that I am signed up for a 10 mile race that is in six weeks. But I am going to keep my fingers crossed and have faith that it will all work out. I am going to keep my running to three days a week, cross-train two days a week, and continue with my stretches, strength work and foam rolling.

I will be seeing the doctor again in a week or so. We may try a more intensive localized treatment such as deep tissue massage or Graston technique. It’s always easier, and probably more effective, if someone else is inflicting the pain!

Future goals:

1) Based on my half-marathon time, I should be able to do the 5k in 38:32. Based solely on the fact that I will be doing some walking this probably isn’t going to happen. It’s the time I am aiming for, but am not going to push it if my knee is bothering me.

2) Be able to run in the Twin Cities 10 mile race on October 2 without being hurt

3) Run the Monster Dash half-marathon on October 29. So I have to get through the 10 miles injury free! This will probably be the last race of this year, and I would really like to do it faster than my first half-marathon.  God help me if I end up doing it any slower!

I am pretty excited as I just registered this morning for my first race for next year.  The Minneapolis 13.1 which is on August 19.  I wasn’t able to do this run this year, but it sounded like everyone had a great time. It also sounded like it was less hilly than the Twin Cities Red, White, and Boom which I will be running again next year. If any of my Minnesota friends are running any of these races let me know, I would love to meet up with you…even though I won’t be able to keep your pace.

Time for the foam roller.  I will see you  Friday with my first 5k race analysis!

Leave a Reply

