Feeling Like a Bum, and I Gained 4 Pounds

Published July 7, 2011 by Jasmine

I can’t believe it’s already been three days since the marathon. I absolutely can’t wait for the next event. I am planning on running the following: Torchlight 5k on July 20th; Urban Wildland Half-Marathon on August 6th; Medtronic Twin Cities 10 Miler (if I am chosen in the lottery) on October 2nd; and the Ortho Monster Dash Half-Marathon on October 29th. So I have a lot of running to do!

Prior to the marathon I had decided I would be taking the week after the marathon off.  No physical activity, it was going to be time for rest and relaxation. Plus, I was going to eat and drink whatever I wanted. I worked hard the last five months and felt like I deserved a week off. In hindsight, there was no way I would have been running anyways as my calves were too tight. Today is the first day I can go down the stairs without wincing in pain. Note to self: make sure I stretch next time and think about buying/trying some compression socks.

The problem with this week of rest is that my final weigh-in for the 90 day Weight Loss Challenge is on Saturday. Other than my two short runs prior to the marathon, and the marathon, I have not worked out in the last two weeks. Nor have I been keeping track of my calories. In fact, I haven’t really tracked my calories for about the last month. This finally caught up with me.  The day before the marathon I weighed myself and I had gained 4.4 pounds.  Disgusting!!  I lost 4.2 pounds running the marathon, but that was all water weight so of course it was back the next day. I haven’t got back on the scale because I know I will be disappointed.

To have gained weight before the final weigh-in really sucks, but it what it is. This isn’t about 90 days for me, it is about the rest of my life. As soon as I get back on track with my running, workouts, and watching my calories on Sunday those four pounds will be gone and my life as a runner will just be beginning.

My life as a runner will only get easier as I continue to lose weight. I am currently about 35-45 pounds above my goal weight. So I can’t imagine how different and hopefully easier running will feel when I finally get to that goal weight.  I had already lost about 40 pounds prior to this marathon (this is from the highest weight I can remember being, about 22 of those pounds I lost since March of this year). I can’t imagine trying to run that marathon carrying two 10 pound weights, or two 20 pound weights! But somehow I was able to carry around that extra weight for most of my adult life.

I came across this quote the other day, and it is so true.

If you want to win something, run 100 meters. If you want to experience something, run a marathon.  – Emil Zatopek

So for any of you who would like to experience something you will never forget, I would love for you to join me in one of the runs I mentioned above. It will be amazing, and it will change you!

Leave a Reply

