It’s Official!

Published May 30, 2011 by Jasmine

I am registered for the Twin Cities Half-Marathon which is on Monday July 4!

When I started training back in January my sights were set on the Twin Cities Marathon which is in October.  I had a lot of people tell me that I should probably start with a shorter race 5k, 10k, or a half-marathon since this was going to be my first race.  Since I have been training I have had a few instances in which I am having issues with my knees.  I also realized that I despised running outside.  I was beginning to wonder how I would make it through a marathon…it’s not like I could ask them to place a treadmill at the start and I could run my 26.2 miles on that! Although I am still learning to appreciate running outside, it is slowly getting a little easier.

I knew there was a half-marathon on the 4th of July, and have been debating for some time whether I should sign up for it. My training plan called for me to run 16 miles on that particular weekend so I should be able to run 13.1 miles, right? Part of me really wasn’t sure if I would be ready, but that is the fear talking.  The fear that I won’t finish, or that I will finish with a ridiculously slow time. The rational side of me was saying that I needed to do this to see how my knees hold up, and take notes for what works and what doesn’t work so that I can apply that knowledge for the full marathon.

My friend Chuck Ramsay who I spoke about in an earlier post had told me a week or two ago that he wouldn’t be ready for a marathon this year.  So yesterday he tells me that he was looking at the marathon website.  So I am thinking he is talking about doing the half, but no he is talking about the big kahuna. This coming from someone who just a couple weeks ago told me he wouldn’t be ready for a marathon this year! He runs faster than me, who is he kidding! Then he said that he was looking at the half on July 4th, and asked if I was in.  I told him I would do it if he did, and the next thing I know we are both registered for the half-marathon!

It is a little scary, but will be great to be at the starting line with a great friend. Chuck is much faster than I am, so although we will start together, we will probably not run together for long and he will certainly finish before me.  I am okay with this.  If I can’t make 13.1 miles by myself, how will I ever make 26.2?

Let the count down begin!  The race is five weeks from today! I hope to see some familiar faces along the way cheering us on!

Leave a Reply

