Best Day Ever! But, I Still Need Some Advice

Published May 28, 2011 by Jasmine

So today has been the best day for three reasons:

1) Today marks two months since I had my RMR (resting metabolic test) and started tracking what I was eating.  The RMR tells you how many calories your body burns at rest. From this information, you can then calculate based on how many calories you burn during the week, how many calories you should be eating everyday. My goal was to lose two pounds a week.  Since I burn about 4,000 calories a week working out, it was determined I could eat 1700-1800 calories a day. When I weighed myself this past Thursday, I was down 19.5 pounds.  I am hoping in the past two days I lost another half pound, which would make for a 20 pound weight loss in only two months! That is AMAZING!!  I am not taking diet pills, and I am eating whatever I want.  I have days where I go above my calorie limit and I have had a week or two where I haven’t burned 4,000 calories.  All in all it has worked out.  I am averaging 2.5 pound weight loss per week. These results go to show that watching what you eat is just as, if not more, important than exercising. Here is why: from Thanksgiving 2009 to Thanksgiving 2010 I worked out 300 days. For most of that time I ate whatever I wanted never really tracking how many calories I was eating. Some days that I did keep track I was eating anywhere from 2500-3500 calories a day. In that one year, I lost 34 pounds.  Yes, 34 pounds is great but it took me a year to lose it. However, by continuing to exercise and tracking my calories I have lost 20 pounds in only two months. There is a good chance that I may have lost more than 20 pounds had I continued to stay away from sugar (I didn’t eat any refined foods or sugar for the first month). I decided that not eating sugar was not realistic for me, and at this point in time it wasn’t a life change I was willing to make. So although my weight loss slowed down, it is still steady, and I know I am slowly making better choices about what I eat.  So YAY for losing 20 pounds! I don’t feel 20 pounds lighter so I am tempted to get on the treadmill with two 10 pound dumbbells to see what that extra weight feels like.

2) I had to go into the bank today which I don’t do very often. A lady I used to work with happens to work at this bank. I also had my glasses on which is rare so I am not sure that she recognized me. After completing my deposit she asked if we had worked together.  She saw my name, but said she wasn’t sure it was me because I had lost so much weight. At the time, I didn’t realize, nor did she, that she made my day. Here was someone who didn’t know I have been trying to lose weight, who didn’t know I was training for a marathon, but still realized my weight loss and told me how great I looked.  She had no incentive to make me feel good or recognize the hard work I had been doing.  The changes are so subtle day to day that I sometimes forget how much weight I have lost. It’s nice to have a reminder every now and then.

3) I am still only running outside once or twice a week. All of my running outside has involved running and walking. My last long run consisted of running 10 minutes and walking 5 minutes. On Wednesday I did a 4.64 mile run where I ran for 12.5 minutes and walked 2.5 minutes.  Today was a real short run, 2.5 miles.  It was going to be interesting because I think I injured my knee again on Thursday. Assuming my knee held up my goal was to run the entire distance, except for my warm up. I DID IT! This was the first time I ran the whole route without walking. I even managed to maintain a 12:37 mile pace.  Many of you advanced runners can probably walk this pace, but I don’t think I will ever be a fast runner.  What matters to me is that I am starting and finishing. The first time I ran outside this spring was back on April 5, I ran/walked this same route and my pace was 14:34 per mile.  This is a huge improvement and I am incredibly proud of it.

Although today has been a great day, I am still in need of some advice on two different issues.

1) I seem to keep having issues with my knees, and really don’t know what to do to fix them. Should I wear a knee brace? What exactly will a knee brace do? Can you recommend any stretches or exercises to strengthen my knees? Any other advice in regards to taking care of your knees?

2) All of my life I have had sinus infections and have had to have surgery for a deviated septum twice. According to the doctor all of my silia are damaged and I will have chronic sinus infections the rest of my life. About 90% of the time I am congested, and this seems to make breathing while running difficult, which in turn seems to make running more difficult. Part of me feels that I won’t really ever get faster or be able to endure longer distances until I can get my breathing under control. What can I do? Any over the counter medications anyone can recommend? Any other advice or recommendations?

I hope everyone who reads this (hopefully someone will read it) has a great Memorial Day weekend. Thank you for joining me on my journey, and helping me along the way!

Leave a Reply

