Four Months Tomorrow

Published May 22, 2011 by Jasmine

I can’t believe that tomorrow marks four months since I started training for the Twin Cities marathon this October. So far I have run 217 miles! Most people probably don’t start training that early for a marathon.  However, since this is my first marathon and I just started running, the first half of my training is simply a mileage build-up plan. I am trying to stick to the plan as much as I can.  The plan on most weeks has me running five days, but I usually have only been running four days a week.  Once the actual marathon training starts I’ll kick it up to five days a week. Not only am I running, but three out of my four days I am riding the bike for 20 minutes, doing the stair climber for 10 minutes, and completing an ab/arm/back/shoulder workout. Yes, I am slightly crazy.  I am usually at the gym 2.5 to 3 hours a day. Sundays are reserved for my long run and that is all I do that day. I try to do my long run outside.  However, lately I feel like I live in Seattle because all it does is rain! Today was another LONG run on the treadmill.

Before I go any further I would like to give a shout out to my friend Chuck Ramsay. I started out as his inspiration, and he has since become mine.  Within the last month or two, Chuck started running and doing P90X. It’s not fair because he is averaging a much faster pace than I am, and that is why he is now my inspiration. I need to start running with him so I can improve my pace! One thing I think Chuck has going for him is that he doesn’t run on a treadmill.  Most of my running has been on the treadmill and I realize I think this is what is holding me back.

When you run outside your body dictates your natural pace.

When you run on the treadmill you manually set your pace. There is nothing natural about the treadmill. When I do my long runs outside I have realized I actually do run faster than I do when I am on the treadmill.  I know this because I am mixing running with walking and still have a faster average pace than when I run on the treadmill. I need to quit limiting my potential and start running outside more often.

For those of you who follow me on Twitter or are friends with me on Facebook may have seen me post this yesterday. “You can be comfortable, or outstanding, but you can’t be both.” There is nothing more true than this. Most people choose to be comfortable because it is easy and doesn’t require any work. To be outstanding requires constant growth and improvement, both of which take you out of your comfort zone. I choose to be outstanding.  My longest run so far has been nine miles and I can tell you there was nothing comfortable about it. Nor will there be anything comfortable about running 26.2 miles. What I do know is that this accomplishment will be outstanding, and that makes me outstanding. Everyday I need to run I can come up with a dozen excuses about why I shouldn’t go or don’t want to go, what is outstanding is that I go anyways. If you want to be outstanding at anything (your career, being a parent, running) you can’t work only on the days you feel like it. You have to make the commitment day in and day out. You won’t always be at 100%, but what makes you outstanding is that you honored your commitment.

So my question for you is will you be comfortable or outstanding this week?

6 comments on “Four Months Tomorrow

  • Hi Jasmine!

    Wow – we have tons in common: training for marathons, twin cities lawyers and lovers of all things pink!

    I’m gonna add your blog to my reader and follow your progress. You will love the sense of accomplishment marathon training (and then running and finishing) gives you. I’ve found that I am way more productive in all areas of my life when I am training for a marathon. It keeps me dedicated and focused.

    Check out my running blog if you want (I’m currently training for Grandma’s, then will do 3 weeks recovery, then train for Twin Cities). http://www.runninfromthelaw.com

    Cindi

    • Cindi

      I just read your blog post from today! You have some awesome times there! I am really slow, and since this will be my first marathon (Twin Cities) my only goal is to finish! I will also ad your blog to my reader so I can follow your progress, and get some inspiration!!

      What areas of law do you practice in?

      • Hi Jasmine –

        I primarily do guardianships and conservatorships, civil litigation and a bit of family law. I have a solo practice in Buffalo, MN.

        I’m so excited to watch your progress in training. Looks like you are super dedicated and getting lots of other stuff in besides running (cross and strength) which will really help you in the later miles.

      • Great to know! I was just looking for an attorney who did guardianship work to pass a case along to not too long ago. It is an area that I am interested in, but have no experience with at this point. I will definitely keep you in mind if I come across any of those types of cases. If you ever have an open weekend I would love to get together and talk about running and the law.

        Part of my cross and strength training really is to speed along my weight loss. I agree with you in that I think it will eventually help, but it sure takes up a lot of time!!

  • Love this post! You inspire me all of the time to keep going – I injured my foot badly over a year ago, and started running again in February. And I’m running the Chicago marathon – also in October! It’s nice following someone else who is a beginner and pushing through their first marathon training as well (I’m @shann55). Keep the posts coming, and keep up your training!

    • Thanks Shannon! I have to tell you there are days that I have serious doubts about being able to finish a marathon, but I am going to keep on with the training and acting “as if” I am a marathon runner. How did you injure your foot? Good luck with your training, and thank you so much for reading. I started this blog really as a journal for myself and if I can motivate just one other person than that is just an added bonus!

  • Leave a Reply

