One of Those Weeks, But A Monumental Day

Published May 14, 2011 by Jasmine

This week has really just been “one of those weeks,” and I am not really sure why.  I think it may be due to this rainy and depressing weather we have been having, or the fact that I am still not sure what is going on with my knee.  Or maybe I have just been lazy and hungry this week. Whatever the reason I have eaten far more than I am supposed to this week. I also only burned 2,383 calories (supposed to burn at least 4,000), but I guess that is what happens when you only make it to the gym two days in a week. Lucky for me this is really the only bad week I have had since starting the 90 Day Weight Loss Challenge.

I thought my weigh-in last Tuesday was going to be bad and it wasn’t, so I am doomed this Tuesday. I am prepared for a weight gain when I weigh in this Tuesday. This is not a fact that I am proud of, but if it does happen I know why…simple math!  I ate more calories than I should have, and burned less calories than I needed to. This is the classic problem in America.  We underestimate the amount that we eat, and overestimate our activity level.  I have challenged you before and I will challenge you again.  For one week keep track of the calories of everything you eat, you will be shocked. If you are not willing to do that, at least pay attention to what is considered a “serving” and how many calories are in one serving. I am not a big chip eater but will occasionally eat them. Most people I know who eat chips will most likely grab a handful at a time. One serving of chips (depending on the brand) is usually 11-14 chips, not very many! And yes, I do count my chips when I eat them!

Today is the end of my bad week, and it isn’t going to get any better today. For one, I decided not to go to the gym. Two, we are celebrating my brother’s birthday with snacks, lasagna, garlic bread, and ice cream.  Oh yeah, and as I am typing this I am drinking a large dark chocolate latte!

Even though this has been a bad week, today has really been a monumental day for me. I saw two things today that I don’t think I have seen in four years, and it brought me to tears. I stepped on the scale this morning fully expecting to have gained a pound or two.  To my surprise, not only did I lose weight, but for the first time in four years I saw a number on the scale under 220!  I also realized today that I have a waist.  I know that sounds really funny, but it actually brought tears to my eyes. For the first time, in longer than I care to remember, I have a waist that is smaller than my boobs and my hips. Although I have been losing weight, I haven’t really noticed any physical changes to my body. Noticing that I finally have a waist made everything real, and was a reminder of what I am working so hard for.

So for the rest of today I will celebrate the little things…like having a waist and a number on a scale.

Leave a Reply

