Tuesdays Can Be Bitter or Sweet

Published May 10, 2011 by Jasmine

Tuesdays are bittersweet because they are the weigh-in day for Lifetime Fitness’s 90 day Weight Loss Challenge. They can be “sweet” if you have lost weight, and “bitter” if you have gained. Today was our fourth weigh in and I am proud to say that today was “sweet”.  I was really expecting to be a bit bitter today as I thought I had surely gained three or four pounds. I felt this was going to happen for a few reasons. First, I had a crappy workout last Thursday when I did something to my knee.  Second, I didn’t workout on Sunday which is the day I burn the most calories all week due to my long run. Third, between Sunday and Monday I had eaten roughly 600 calories more than I should have.  Lucky for me Sunday is the beginning of my tracking for the week, so I had time to either burn off the extra calories or cut my calories consumed later in the week.  The extra 600 calories didn’t bode well for a Tuesday weigh-in.

I can’t tell you how HAPPY I was when I got on the scale and realized I had actually lost 1.2 pounds!! I know that doesn’t seem like a lot, but it means that I didn’t gain any weight.

I still am not sure what is going on with my knee. I was able to jog three miles again today. I decided that for the next month or so I am going to cut my daily mileage to about 3/4, and just go slow.  I also usually do about ten minutes everyday on the stair climber, and have decided to add 20 minutes on the bike as well to make up for the lost mileage.

I am still continuing to eat whatever I want, as long as I stay within my calorie range.  Although, I am still trying to stay away from most packaged foods.  One of my newest favorite salads is the raspberry chicken salad with raspberry vinaigrette.  Not only does it taste good, but is low calories and high in protein. When I make it I use a whole bag of lettuce, six ounces of diced chicken breast, 14 raspberries, and five tablespoons of Kraft Raspberry Vinaigrette. This makes a huge bowl (probably three to four servings) and the entire bowl is only 339 calories (I personally don’t count calories in lettuce) and 42.3 grams of protein.

Today is an awesome day.  Actually, everyday that I workout is an awesome day.  For anyone who may be contemplating starting their own weight loss journey, a new workout, or taking up running all I can say is just do it. I know from personal experience that is easier said than done, but nobody is going to do it for you. You need to find ways to motivate yourself because at the end of the day the only person you can truly count on is yourself. Start small, baby steps are better than no steps.  Set a goal, any goal but you must make a priority. I had worked out for about two years, but was never really consistent.  So I set a goal to work out 300 out of 365 days.  It was a goal that was slightly out of reach, but attainable if I made it a priority. I told everyone I knew about my goal. In the beginning it was very overwhelming to think that I only had five rest days a month, and every other day of the month I had to work out. I took one day at a time, and 365 days later I had reached my goal.

Once I reached that goal I knew I had to set another. I have always wanted to run a marathon so I decided that would be my next goal.  The best part was I wasn’t even a runner. Again, I am taking it one day at a time and come October hopefully I will be ready!

The one most important thing I can tell you is that you will feel amazing if you just get up and do it.  I can tell a night and day difference between the days I workout and the days I don’t. This feeling is something that money can’t buy, it’s priceless.

The most difficult thing is the decision to act; the rest is merely tenacity.

~ Amelia Earhart

2 comments on “Tuesdays Can Be Bitter or Sweet

  • Leave a Reply

