To Hobble Along or Not…That Is The Question

Published May 7, 2011 by Jasmine

So this past Thursday was not a good day.  I did something to my knee, and have no idea what I did.  What I do know is that I didn’t make it more than 3.5 miles…I was supposed to do six. Since then I have been following the R.I.C.E. prescription–Rest, Ice, Compression, and Elevation.  Yesterday I did have a few sharp pains shoot through my knee while resting, and at times a mild discomfort while walking.  I have been a little stressed as I am trying to keep up with the marathon training, make sure I have burned enough calories this week to continue with my weight loss, and all the while knowing that sometimes rest is the only way you are going to get better.  However, rest was not part of the training plan this weekend, and I still had 775 calories to burn for the week. (By the way my heart rate monitor hasn’t been working properly because it needed a new battery.  It works like a champ now!)

One thing I knew for sure this morning was that I was not going to attempt to run outside. If something was really wrong with my knee I had this overwhelming fear that I was going to fall, and possibly make things worse. Not to mention that I would feel like an idiot laying on the side of the road waiting for someone to come help me.  At least on the treadmill I would have hand rails to grab if my knee started acting up.

So off I went, maybe foolishly but that was yet to be decided! As always I did my strength training first.  Before getting on the treadmill, I used the foam roller on my legs, specifically on the Iliotibial band.  They were definitely tight and sore. I am not the best when it comes to stretching, especially when it comes to using the foam roller.  I have now learned my lesson.

I am not going to lie, I wish a bit nervous to even get on the treadmill.  In my mind I have been running through worse case scenarios and the thought of bones rubbing or joints popping makes me queasy. I walked for the first ten minutes, and then I started jogging at a very slow pace…a 15 minute per mile pace. Even though it was slow I could do it! I only averaged between a 14 and 15 minute per mile pace, but I made it three miles.  For my last mile, I did incline walking. I am hopeful that with continued icing and stretching whatever happened on Thursday will resolve itself.

Although it seems as though I am not injured, I realized this week why injuries are so devastating. The physical pain is nothing compared to the emotional and mental pain.  What is devastating is the realization that everything you’ve worked for and dedicated your time too could be gone in a split second.

I have decided that there will be no more speed work for me at least for two to three months. Slow and steady wins the race, right?  Thank goodness that this next week is a recovery week and my weekly mileage is only 17 miles!

Leave a Reply

