Experiment Results

Published May 3, 2011 by Jasmine

So last week I decided to try an experiment.  Today was the big day to see what the results would be. I was a little nervous because I didn’t want all my hard work over the last month to be a waste. I had weighed myself on Sunday so I had an idea, but since Monday is a rest day for me (and for some reason I tend to eat more on my rest days) anything could have happened.  IT WORKED!  Not only did I lose the three pounds I had gained last week, I lost an additional one and a half pounds for a total weight loss of four and one-half pounds. So I am going to continue the experiment through this week, and see what happens.  I am still going to allow myself to have sugar, but am going to be vigilant about my calorie distribution. This last week I averaged 50% carbs, 30% fat, and 20% protein.  My goal is 40% carbs, 30% fat, and 30% protein.  So I need to eat a little less carbs and a little more protein.

The great thing about this last week was that I discovered the effect that sugar has on my body. During the 27 days that I went without sugar I never felt sick, or even had a upset stomach.  However, during this last week I had an upset stomach a couple of times and I know it was from the sugar. So all in all this past week was a good lesson for me. I am making progress, and that’s the goal “progress, not perfection.” I don’t necessarily crave sugar, and I don’t think about buying it while I am at the store. Now that is progress! Anyone who knows me knows that I would make a trip to the store just to buy sweets.

Today’s workout was a bit frustrating.  The weather is so beautiful, and I would have liked to have run outside. However, I had an appointment at the gym and was also going to doing strength work so I just decided to run on the treadmill.  The frustrating part was that my heart rate monitor was not working properly. I even stopped in the middle of my running to go to the bathroom and try to adjust the chest strap, with no luck.  I was so FRUSTRATED! When it works, it is the best thing ever (just like cars and computers), and when it doesn’t work it really pisses me off. The heart rate monitor keeps track of my heart rate, but more importantly it keeps track of how many calories I have burned. This is crucial when you are trying to lose weight. Since I seem to be an all or nothing type of person, I didn’t even do any strength training because I would have no idea how many calories I burned.  I did finish my run because I know that with cardio I burn an average of ten calories per minute, so I will at least have a rough estimate of how many calories I burned. In case you couldn’t already tell, I HATE when my heart rate monitor (and car and computer) does not work properly.

The one good thing about running on the treadmill is that I can do some speed work in a controlled environment. hopefully lessening my chances of getting injured. My speed work may be different from what others do.  I usually, depending on the speed, run for 30 seconds to one minute and then I walk for a minute, and repeat.  Today I did that for about a mile and a half. I am not doing speed intervals to get faster, rather I am doing them to make my marathon pace seem easy and to strengthen my heart. I am all about baby steps!

So until next time…HAPPY RUNNING!

2 comments on “Experiment Results

  • Hey Jasmine!

    Do you notice on the days without sugar that you actually have more energy? I notice this is more evident the day after. Congrats and wishing you continued success with your fitness goals.

    • Tammy,

      That is a good question. I guess I really haven’t paid close enough attention. It would make sense though, I think. I would seem that on days that you eat sugar your body is constantly going from high to low. when your insulin spikes and then drops. I imagine and we know the toll this takes on our body and how it makes us feel. However, on the days I don’t eat sugar the insulin levels are probably staying pretty steady. I do tend to feel more sluggish on the days that I eat sugar. I also seem to feel “heavy”, not necessarily weight wise. I just feel like my body is weighed down.

      Thank you so much for reading and the encouragement! It is much appreciated. Good luck with Insanity!!

  • Leave a Reply

