Feeling Like A Slacker

Published April 28, 2011 by Jasmine

So according to my training plan, I am supposed to run six miles today.  However, I have decided to do nothing but rest today even though tomorrow is my designated rest day.  Yes, Mondays and Fridays are my designated rest days.  This was the plan even before I had decided to train for a marathon.  A lot of people would probably choose to take the weekends off and workout during the week.  The reason I didn’t choose to do that was because it was much easier to get in the habit of being lazy (aka not making it back to the gym) when I had two days off in a row.  I really like having Mondays and Fridays off. It just so happened that when I found my training plan for the marathon it called for rest days on Mondays and Fridays.  My current training plan is a mileage build-up plan, and the marathon training plan will begin around June 5.  Although my current training plan calls for running five days a week, I usually have only been running about four.  I usually take a third rest day on Wednesday as my body is tired and sore.

Back to today, today is not Monday, Wednesday, or Friday yet I am resting.  I kind of feel like a slacker.  I did work out yesterday, but not as much as I should have. I should have run six miles, but only ran a little over two miles.  I did have an hour strength workout with my trainer, and did 20 minutes on the stair climber.  Even though I burned about 850 calories, it just doesn’t seem like I did enough.  I had every intention of running today until I woke up and realized how sore my body was, particularly my arms, chest, back, and abs.  You see I got a whole new strength workout yesterday, so I am a bit sore.  I love the new workout and am super excited to get to do it again.  JUST NOT TODAY!

I learned something important about myself yesterday. It is something that I think I have always known, but maybe never verbalized.  I will tell you what I learned in a moment, but first I will tell you how I came to realize what I had learned.  I am always just a tad bit apprehensive about meeting with Sherry, my personal trainer.  I am worried about what new moves she is going to expect me to be able to do, that I am not going to be able to do them, and how big of a fool I am going to make of myself in front of everyone else who is at the gym (especially the cute guys)! Lucky for me there were really only two things she asked me to do that I really didn’t think I was going to be able to do.  Since I am not really sure how to describe the first one, I will tell you about the second one which is the one I was most worried about.

Anyone know what the “PLANK” is?  For those of you who are not sure, here is a short video  to get you up to speed: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MHQmRINu4jU. Seems easy enough, right? Well I’ll be the first to tell you that looks can be deceiving.  The goal is to be able to hold this position for at least 60 seconds.  If I am lucky I might be able to keep it for 30 seconds.  Now I didn’t get this “easy” version, no I had to do an advanced version.  All I could think was there is no way this is going to happen, I hope nobody is watching.  My plank was with the medicine ball (minus the leg lifts): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iEIl1JmMfr8. Luckily she only asked that I do this for 30 seconds, and I DID IT!

I underestimated myself, and I realized that I have been doing that my entire life.  I still don’t know why I do that, but I know that I do.  You can’t do better, until you know better.  I know better now.  I am stronger and smarter than I have ever given myself credit for.  Of all the judgments we make through life, none are more important that the estimate we place on ourselves.  It is time for me to harness that strength and intelligence to become the person I was always meant to be. It’s not who you think you are…or even who you think you are not that really determines success…it is who you think you are becoming.

So yes, today I will rest and reflect on the person I am becoming.

Leave a Reply

