9 Miles…This One’s For You Harv!

Published April 24, 2011 by Jasmine

I DID IT! I just finished nine miles…outside.  The farthest I had run prior to this was eight miles, but it was on the treadmill. The farthest I had run outside prior to today was only five miles. Now granted I didn’t run the entire way, I did my fair share of walking, but I did nine miles!!

My face feels grimy, I had a few gnats stuck to my forehead, and I have tan lines.  That is what you get after nine miles.  I have a sneaking suspicion that tomorrow I am going to have an aching body as well. I don’t know how any one can survive an ice bath. I tried taking one when I got home and within a minute I felt as though I was losing feeling in my feet.  Now I am sure some of you are thinking what is an ice bath and why would you take one.  Well an ice bath is a bathtub full of cold water and ice.  An ice bath is supposed to reduce inflammation.  I sure didn’t last very long, but hope it works.

Yesterday, I was really dreading having to run nine miles today.  I was actually offered the opportunity to go to the Twins game today, which I declined more than once because I needed to run these nine miles.  (Remember, you can’t get good if you only do something on the days you feel like it.) I had a major change in perspective last night.  I didn’t HAVE TO run these nine miles, I GOT TO run these nine miles.  There are many people out there who would like nothing more than to be able go out on a beautiful day like today and run nine miles, but they can’t due to things outside of their control, like injury and illness.  This is especially true for my friend and colleague W. Harvey Skees.  He is one of the most athletic people I know, has completed and Ironman, and right now can barely walk to the end of his driveway due to an injury.  He has surgery scheduled in early May, and all of his friends and family are praying for a fast recovery. So Harv, these nine miles were for you.  Keep your spirit strong, and remember sometimes we have to go slow (or not move at all) to go fast.  My time didn’t do you justice, but you got me through nine miles.  Thank you!

Leave a Reply

