5 Miles Should Be Easier Than 8 Right?

Published April 19, 2011 by Jasmine

It should be, but I don’t know if it ever feels like it.  I think I get excited because I don’t have to run as far and then I set myself up for disappointment!  Today’s run was five miles.  I really, really wanted to maintain a 12 minute per mile pace but I couldn’t do it for the full five miles.  My first mile was a 12 minute mile, and then I started alternating one minute speed intervals with one minute of walking.  I did finish in 62 minutes and 12 seconds, which wasn’t too shabby.  I ended up averaging a pace of 12:28 per mile.

I realize I set myself up for failure by having unrealistic expectations.  Two days ago my average pace was 13:05, and I miraculously thought I was going to shave 1:05 off of that pace the very next time I ran.  I am crazy!!  I am tired, and my body is tired because I don’t think I am giving it the fuel it needs. A friend of mine brought up a very important point when I had commented on not having any sugar.  He said that my body needs carbs, especially if I am race training.  Carbs provide fuel to your body, like gas provides fuel for your car.  Not only have I not been giving my body the carbs it needs to run, I haven’t even really been eating all the calories I need. I realize this is a hindrance to my weight loss because as soon as the body doesn’t get what it needs, it hoards what it has.  By no means am I doing this on purpose, but nothing sounds good anymore.  Some days I also feel like if I can’t have sugar, I don’t want anything!

I need to start adding some more carbs to my diet. I do feel like this is why my body has been feeling weak.  I am working and training too hard without the proper fuel.  In the two days I have worked out this week, I have already burned 2,970 calories.  My weight loss plan is based on me burning only 4,000 calories a week. I still have three workouts and 15 miles to run this week.  I will far surpass 4,000 calories burned, which definitely means that I need to be eating all of my calories including more carbs.

I feel like I am stuck between a rock and a hard place.  On one hand I am trying to lose weight, and the other I am training for a marathon.  I want to believe that if I just stick to eating the number of calories, irrespective of what I am eating, I will continue to lose the weight.  Am I wrong?  What do you think? I am really hoping to get people’s thoughts on this!!

Leave a Reply

