My First 8 Mile Run

Published April 17, 2011 by Jasmine

This day started out as another daunting day, I had to run my first eight mile run today.  I wasn’t feeling it.  My back was hurting and I was congested.  I went back and forth trying to decide do I run outside or go to the gym.  Since I questioned even making the eight miles, I decided I better go to the gym because realistically I didn’t think I would make eight miles outside.  Thanks to my good friends and colleagues, Chuck Ramsay and Shaun Jamison, for the motivation to finally get my butt moving today!  They are both inspirations to me!

The farthest I had run prior to today was 7.45 miles back on April 1st, which had taken me an hour and fifty minutes. Yes, my pace was terrible but I had finished.  I was averaging  a 14:46 mile, which was a minute and two seconds slower than the minimum race pace.  So I wasn’t looking forward to eight miles, and the time it was going to take me to run that far. But I had to do it to stay on track with my training.  I am never going to be good at running, if I only run on the days I feel like it.  So off to the gym I went.

For the first thirty minutes, I stayed at race pace of 4.5 mph. For the next thirty minutes, I alternated speed intervals with walking. For the next thirty minutes, I tapered from 5 mph down to 4.5 mph.  For the last fourteen minutes, I alternated faster speed intervals with walking.

I DID IT!!  I ran eight miles.  Every time I think about it I almost start to cry because I can’t believe I did it.  I can remember when I couldn’t even run a mile. Not only did I run eight miles, which is .55 miles farther than my farthest run, I did it five minutes and 18 seconds faster!!   My eight mile run was on track with marathon pace.  I averaged a 13:05 minute  mile!  I am ECSTATIC!!!

This is proof positive that we are capable of doing so much more than we give ourselves credit for.  It takes hard work, the ability to push ourselves, and the willingness to be uncomfortable.  But when all is said and done, it feels AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

