My Journey to 26.2 Miles

Published April 13, 2011 by Jasmine

For the most part, I have been overweight and out of shape my entire adult life.  I am not proud of this, but it is what it is. I was sick and tired of being sick and tired.  I had been going to the gym 10-12 times a month for about a year and a half, but there really wasn’t any consistency.  I also really wasn’t losing much weight, and was getting frustrated.  So on Thanksgiving of 2009 I set a goal to work out 300 out of 365 days.  This was a tall order, but I needed a goal that was going to stretch me out of my comfort zone but still be attainable if I worked hard.  It was a long year, but I DID IT!  It was difficult, but it proved to me that I could do whatever I wanted as long as I set my mind to it.

When I reached this goal, I knew I needed to set another goal. Running a marathon has always been one of those “bucket list” items. Now mind you, I have never been a runner. I remember the days in elementary school when we had to run the mile, and believe me I tried everything I could think of to get out of it.   So the next logical goal for me was to run a marathon…the Twin Cities 26.2 miler in October of 2011.  I researched training plans.  I found out most training plans started 17-18 weeks before the marathon date. However, since I haven’t done any running I soon realized that I needed to work on a mileage build-up training plan, which started 18 weeks before the training plan.  So my training started Sunday January 23.  So between Thanksgiving of 2010 and January 23, 2011 I ran here and there to get ready for my training.  I was incredibly excited to have a training plan, and to get started.  Although I hadn’t run yet, I was beginning to feel like a marathon runner!

This blog is going to be about my struggles, triumphs, tears, and laughter as I prepare for what I hope will be my biggest accomplishment yet…to finish a marathon.  I don’t care how long it takes me, I don’t care if I come in last, as long as I finish in the 6 hours allotted.  In theory this seems really easy, it only requires you to average a 13:44 minute mile.  However, you have to do 26.2 of these miles.  Endurance is everything!

Welcome and thank you for following my journey.  The journey of an overweight, out of shape, 32-year-old woman who is embarking on a challenging and emotional journey hoping to find the “real” her along the way.  I welcome any and all insight, encouragement, and inspiration especially from those of you who are experienced runners.  I also hope this blog can inspire at least one other person to get active, and reclaim their life.

Leave a Reply

